Your Key to Professional Excellence



## EPSILON SIGMA PHI- ALPHA SIGMA WISCONSIN CHAPTER

## **Resource Development**

## 2011-2012 Committee Report Submitted for the ESP Annual Meeting, held on April 12, 2012.

The purpose of the Resource Development Committee is to solicit and manage funds for the ESP Foundation and to work closely with the Grants and Loans Committee to determine the amount of scholarship monies to be awarded on an annual basis. In addition, the committee is responsible for administering the Evergreens sculpture recognition of our most generous donors by maintaining a current record of "leaf" plaques on the sculpture. The past several years, the silent auction at the JCEP conference has benefitted the ESP Foundation. In addition, several memorable Extension Olympics supported the Foundation. An annual letter to donors was sent recently.

The Epsilon Sigma Phi Professional Development Endowment was founded in 1982 with a gift of \$45,900 from Henry Ahlgren, former Director of Cooperative Extension, who was a tremendous advocate of professional development for county based Extension educators. Dr. Ahlgren was responsible for restructuring Extension for more effective outreach, making it a national model for the sharing of university research, i.e. the "Wisconsin Idea". An agronomist and former Agronomy Department Head for the UW-Madison, Ahlgren also initiated the Ahlgren Endowment specifically for agriculture educators to improve their ability to work in modernizing family farms, to develop creative means to support and maintain family farms, and to develop and implement niche farming in Wisconsin. Since 1982, \$303,990 has been donated to the Foundation, including \$4585 in 2011.

Income available for 2012 scholarships:

ESP fund	\$16,561.23
Ahlgren Award Fund	6,777.96
Total	\$23,339.19

The Resource Development Committee is composed of one representative from each program area, a retiree, and a liaison to the Board. There is currently a need for new members (agriculture, family living, and retiree) as the terms of current members expire or they retire. The chair-elect is Cara Carper.

Respectfully submitted. Peg Reedy, Chair